Anchors Abroad

I’m going to Australia. I’m going to Australia? I’m going to Australia!

No matter how many times I say it, the reality still hasn’t sunk in: I’ll be spending summer vacation interning “down under!

I couldn’t be more excited for this opportunity, but right now I mostly feel overwhelmed. My to-do list is growing and my days in the states are dwindling.

Right now, travel feels like 50% planning and 50% waiting. What do I need to pack? What can I buy when I get there? Don’t forget the passports, visas, and “travel-sized” everything. “Is it under 3 ounces?”

How many sights can I possibly fit into 2 months and not die from exhaustion? …or drain my bank account? What are the things I just have to see?

In the mess of planning and stuffing suitcases, it can be easy to forget why I’m going in the first place. Traveling is a way to experience new foods, new cultures, new people, and maybe even a new outlook on life.

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.”

Isn’t that what life’s all about? Living? Trying not to get too caught up in our own to-do lists. Maybe I should take my own advice. Maybe we should all “live” more and stress less.

Stay tuned for adventures from halfway across the world!

